Welcome to 2009!

It’s quite hard to believe that it’s already 2009! It will take some getting used to!

I’ve felt like my life has been on hold for awhile now. I’ve been hormonal and pretty cranky/grouchy so I haven’t felt much like blogging. Hopefully I can stay on top of it for awhile now!

I’m just going to give a general overview of what’s been going on because I don’t have the time or inclination to be wordy about it.

M was laid off from his job at Pardee Homes on November 19th. We’ve been enjoying the ‘time off’ and he’s getting some much needed R&R. His job was very stressful and taking a toll on his health.

He attended a hiring conference in San Diego at the beginning of December. He may have a shot at a couple of those jobs. He also did a phone interview for an elevator company, and they flew him up to San Fransisco for a 2nd/final interview. That went well and the guys he interviewed with said they would recommend him for a position. We were supposed to hear, “The week of the 29th/before New Year’s” but haven’t heard anything yet and probably won’t until next week now. But it does seem promising, his background is really good as far as his experience being ideal for the job. I think he is very optimistic about getting it.

I’m not quite sure how I feel about it, honestly. I know that most likely we’ll have to move away from my friends and church. But I just don’t want to! So I’m kinda dragging my feet about being excited at all. Also, this job will most likely take us to Seattle, which I didn’t realize before, but it’s a pretty liberal area. And it gets lots of rain. We’ve been having lots of rain here for a couple weeks and it makes us all go crazy inside the trailer. I can’t imagine 260+ days a year of rain! So I’m hoping if we do end up there, we’ll be able to rent a house, at least.

Also, there is a lot of training for this job, and I’m not sure if we’d have to be separated for it. There’s 2-4 weeks on-the-job training, then 7 weeks in Illinois, and 2 or 4 weeks in Texas. If we could tag along with him it wouldn’t be so bad, but if I have to be on my own somewhere new starting over without M and with a newborn, that is going to be hard! On top of all that, we’re not even sure exactly when this job starts. If it’s before the baby comes, that will be tricky, too! So, you can see that I’ve been kind of stressed and having to try very hard to just trust the Lord and not worry about it.

Today I am 38 weeks pregnant. At 35 weeks I had an evening/morning of lots of braxton hicks contractions. Last night I was also having lots of contractions. I was even starting to wonder if it would lead to real labor, but nothing’s happened much since 4am. I have a feeling I’m not going to make it all the way to the 15th this time, though.

To help pass the time and keep my mind off of potentially stressful things, I decided to make THIS last night.

I feel like I’m in a state of limbo here, it’s really wearing on me! I want to hear job news and waiting to go into labor! I can’t wait to meet my newest little boy!!

JJ

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lyndsay said,

    Hi Amy ~

    You’ve got a lot on your plate right now. I’m praying God will give you an extra portion of peace as you lean on Him through this. I had a similar situation with my husband being laid off right after having our third child. I remember being terrified but God never left us and provided for us so abundantly. I know he will do that for you too.

    And I’ve lived in the Seattle area for all my life. Let me say that although I will agree that it does rain a lot and can be very liberal it really is a beautiful place to live. There is lots to do around here and lots of great communities perfect for raising a family.

    Praying for you and your family.
    ~Lyndsay

  2. 2

    Wendy said,

    She said it better than I could have. I will pray for God’s perfect plan, even though it still hasn’t been made clear to you!

  3. 3

    Thank you so much, Lyndsay & Wendy. It really means a lot to me to have friends across the country who care so much and are praying! (((HUGS)))


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

