Miscellaneous Stuff….

Hopefully this post won’t be too boring. I’m just going to list a bunch of miscellaneous stuff as it comes to mind.

The children are outside “hunting for rollie-pollies”. They’ve started doing that lately. That’s what I always called them, they’re also known as… um, oh yeah, pill bugs. (I think.)

Yesterday we did a flip-flop and the children and I went to my “Tuesday Friend’s” house. I brought a yummy chicken dish for lunch. I have pity on working people and didn’t want her to have to worry about the food. It was tasty! Recipe to follow. I got it from my sis.

Braised Soy-Ginger Chicken and Bok Choy
Excerpted from Food Made Fast: Asian
  • 1 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup rice wine or dry sherry
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1/2 teaspoon Chinese five-spice powder
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh ginger
  • 3 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 2 pounds skin-on, bone-in chicken thighs or breast halves (I took the skin and bones off)
  • 1/2 pound bok choy, quartered lengthwise
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon Asian sesame oil
Steamed rice for serving
1. In a Dutch oven or deep frying pan, combine 1 1/2 cups water and the soy sauce, wine, brown sugar, five-spice powder, ginger, and green onions. Bring to a boil over high heat and then reduce the heat to medium-low. Submerge the chicken pieces, skin side up, in the liquid and simmer gently for 8 minutes. Turn the pieces and continue to simmer until the chicken is opaque throughout when tested with the tip of a knife, about 8 minutes longer.
2. Using tongs or a slotted spoon, transfer the chicken to a serving platter and cover with aluminum foil to keep warm. Bring the braising liquid to a boil over medium heat, add the bok choy, and cook until tender, about 3 minutes. Using tongs or slotted spoon, transfer the bok choy to the platter, arranging it around the chicken.
3. Bring the braising liquid to a boil over high heat and boil until reduced by half, about 5 minutes. Stir in the honey and sesame oil. Pour over the chicken and bok choy and serve with the rice.
Cook’s Tip: Other leafy greens, such as Swiss chard or kale when they are in season, or spinach may be used in place of the bok choy. Chop the leaves coarsely and cook just until tender. The spinach only needs several seconds to cook.

As usual, I didn’t have all the ingredients, but I’m the Queen of Substitution when it comes to recipes, so it was fine. I didn’t have fresh ginger (used ground) and didn’t have Chinese 5 Spice. (Actually, we were talking about that and how there are spices in that concoction that we don’t like, so we’ve never bought it.) I also didn’t have bok choy or spinach, so I used some bean sprouts. I also used part soy sauce and part teriyaki sauce. I think it would be better with boneless thighs. It was very, very tasty. I think I’m going to try it in the crockpot, too.

We got a new vehicle a couple weeks ago. A 2004 Ford Excursion.

Excursion
It’s fun to drive. I’m a Diesel-Mama now! It’s got a dvd player which is pretty cool. Thanks to a very helpful young man at church I can now work it! I wasn’t sure if it worked or not, as I couldn’t get it to come on. Another cool bonus feature… heated seats! I was in a friend’s car recently that had that and it was pretty cool. Little did I dream we’d have a new vehicle… let alone one with that feature… in a few weeks.

We are “raising” butterflies. We did it when I was little, like 6 years old or so, and it has always been a very cherished childhood memory. This is a little different than what we did when I was young. The caterpillars stay in these tiny little containers until their chrysallis is formed, then you carefully take the lid off and duct tape it to the top of a box or wherever you’re going to watch them hatch from. Both of our are hanging upside-down from the lids and in the process of shedding. Something interesting I learned recently from reading caterpillar books with the children is that the chrysallis is actually underneath their skin after the final shedding. I always thought caterpillars “spun cocoons” kind of like a spider spins a web. I thought that they actually made a cocoon around themselves. But it’s already made, just under their skin. Instead of new skin, after the final shedding there’s a chrysallis underneath. Anyways, everyone else probably knows that already, but it was interesting to me.
You can’t see as well in the picture as it looked like when the pic was on my camera. Sorry!
caterpillars
I finally finished a dress that I was making for Mrs. B’s daugher. I hope it fits! I’m not as pleased with it as I orignally was. It turned out fine, but the whole “watermellon look” wasn’t exactly what I was going with when I first started.
dress
dress2
I hope she doesn’t think it’s too silly to wear.

And since I had the camera out, here’s a picture of the soft shoes… I still need to put the elastic in one.
softshoes
Alright, one more picture… my new sewing machine!
sewing machine
In coupon news…. (skip this if you find the details of my new-found couponing habit boring)
Yesterday I had to stop at Stater Bros. to pick up more cereal and blackberries that were on sale. I had purchased some last week and they were really good so I wanted to pick more up before their sales changed on Wednesday. Well, they were out of berries! Ack! And they were out of the adpapers with coupons that made the cereal a good price. I did get two more packages of chicken thighs (.87 lb). And some lunchmeat was on sale, I already go some earlier but the packages had coupons in them so I used those to get some more.
 
Then I hit the jackpot in the clearance basket! Nine boxes of Fiber One cereal (Raisin Bran with Granola Clusters) for .79/box! AND, to sweeten the deal even more… each box has a coupon for $1.50 off Fiber One yogurt (used at Ralphs that will double the coupon to $2.50 off… I can definately get some free yogurt!) and also coupons for buy 3 Fiber One products, get a box of Fiber One granola bars free. Unfortunately, they wouldn’t let me use those coupons to get granola bars for free since the cereal was on markdown. But I’ll have them for future use. And both coupons don’t expire until the end of the year! So I was kind of excited at finding that good bargain.

—You non-couponers can start reading again now.—

The roses in all their glory have faded to ugly brown spots. (The grass withereth, the flower fadeth: but the word of our God shall stand for ever. Is. 40:8) There are way too many to think about clipping all the dead heads off. The rosebushes really just need to be drastically pruned back, but we don’t have the proper tools for that.
Yesterday C really surprised me several times at my friend’s house. He stood without holding on to anything numerous times, for more than just split-seconds. He’s going to be walking before long! I can’t believe it! What happened to my little baby?
Charles 
What happened to this little baby, too?
E
She will be THREE in just a few weeks!! Where did April go, anyways? It’s nearly over!
JJ
1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    MaDiDi said,

    How does one omit 50% more of the ingredients in a dish and still have it be so tasty? Great lunch today, thanks. Remember the village idiot? Yeah, that was me…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

