Before the Throne of God Above

okay, call me weird, but I’ve got a great song stuck in my head:

Before the Throne of God Above

I especially like Chris Rice’s version… it’s so pretty, and I LOVE the lyrics!

Before the throne of God above
I have a strong and perfect plea
A great high priest whose name is love
Who ever lives and pleads for me

My name is graven on His hands
My name is written on His heart
I know that while in Heav’n He stands
No tongue can bid me thence depart

When Satan tempts me to dispair
And tells me of my guilt within,
Upward I look and see Him there
Who made an end of all my sin

Because the sinless Savior died,
My sinful soul is counted free
For God the just is satisfied,
To look on Him, and pardon me

Behold Him there, the risen Lamb
My perfect, spotless righteousness
The great unchangeable I AM
The King of Glory and of grace

One with Himself, I cannot die
My soul is purchased by His blood,
My life is hid with Christ on high,
With Christ my Savior, and my God

I’ve had it stuck in my head since Sunday. We sang it at church. We use a different tune, which is also very nice. I like both tunes.

I have lots of ideas for blog posts to come, so stay tuned.

JJ

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jennifer said,

    What a beautiful song. I have never heard it!
    I’m so glad you’re back and there’s more to come!

  2. 2

    Miss T said,

    It’s about time. But you know I love you.

  3. 3

    Wow, I didn’t know anyone was still reading! Glad I still have at least two loyal Joyful Journey fans!

    (((Thank you)))
    JJ

  4. 4

    I check your blog daily still JJ!

    I think I’ve heard that song, but I’m horrible with remembering lyrics, etc. But it is beautiful 🙂

    Blessings!

  5. 5

    Nicole H said,

    I check not every day, but at least once a week, so you have another fan! LOL!

  6. 6

    emilie said,

    I reaaaally like Chris Rice’s version too!
    I was looking for the lyrics and I found your website!
    It’s stuck in my head too! haha
    thanks!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

