Homemade Pizza

*sigh* Here sit I still, it’s nearly 11am. I haven’t done much yet today… I always seem to get off to a slow start. M will be home any minute for lunch. Probably before I’m done writing this post. I’m not sure what to have… probably sandwiches and homemade coleslaw.

After he leaves and I put the children down for naps, I’m going to haul some of the many bag-fulls of laundry downstairs and fold like a maniac while watching a movie.

Last night we watched “An Affair to Remember” with Cary Grant and Deborah Kerr, but not too far into it I started having a hard time keeping my eyes open, so I laid down on the couch and snoozed during the rest. So I think I’ll watch the rest of it this afternoon. I was actually completely exhausted last night for some inexplicable reason. I still woke throughout the night, but I slept very soundly when I was asleep and felt like I slept better than I have in awhile. I never used to fall asleep during movies.

Tonight we’re having the R family over for dinner. We’ve been trying to get together for awhile but our schedules have clashed until now. They just had #4 a couple months after C was born (also a boy) so it will be fun to have two babies in the house. It will be so fun to see all the little boys at church growing up together, they’re all pretty close in age.

I’m going to make homemade pizza tonight. I should think about some kind of dessert, too. I got a book from the library that has recipes that have no sugar/honey/sugar substitute in them, they’re simply fruit-sweetened. I may try one of those recipes. I have a bag of Keebler chocolate chip cookies if the recipe fails.

Homemade pizza is often looked upon as a sort of “wow!” kind of dish, like it’s something that you’re really talented if you can make from scratch. Well, while I’d like to accept your accolades, it’s really a rather simple, quick meal. I used to think it was a “special” kind of dinner, too. But then I realized that it was actually something that was one of the quicker meals to make. So I started making it more often. This was back when we lived in North Dakota, I haven’t made it much lately. But it is rather simple and quick. The crust mixes up in just a couple minutes and it doesn’t need to be kneaded or “rise”. You simply let it “rest” for a few minutes while you get your other ingredients out and then it’s ready to go! And there are so many variations of toppings you can use. As long as you have cheese, you can throw many other things on top and it comes out good.

Mrs. R is bringing pepperoni, and I have mushrooms, black olives, bell pepper, green onions, parmesan cheese, mozzerella, and I have a little ground beef (‘taco’ seasoned) that I could throw on one. It’ll be good. I already have the bell pepper and green onions chopped, and I grated the mozzerella too. So all I’ll need to do later is mix up the crust dough and chop some olives while it rests. And whip up some pizza sauce. Voila!

Anyways, I need to go see about getting something together for lunch.
Oh, and E has been using the potty mostly now. She had gone a couple days where she used it exclusively except for at naptime or when we went somewhere (when I would put a diaper on her.) The past couple days she seemed to relapse, but I think it’s because of the pullups she’s using. I think they’re too much like diapers to her, and so she thinks she can just go in them. So I’ve been having her wear her big girl underwear instead and she’s been doing better now. She has even gone (on her own accord) to do #2 in the potty, too! Woohoo!

JJ
PS… If you’re reading this, I love you K! And I’ve been praying for you. (You know who you are!) ((((((HUGS)))))) Be still and know that HE is God!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jen said,

    How’d your pizza turn out? Too bad you didn’t get a picture.
    Blessings!

  2. 2

    MerryMommyofFive said,

    Just checked your blog today! Thanks for the many prayers. I am doing much better! Gotta run, doc. app.!

  3. 3

    Daisey said,

    Whoo Hooo! Go E!!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

