Thank you

Thank you to all my readers (friends) who come and read and pray for me, and who leave such loving messages for me. I truly do appreciate it! May God reward you all for your kinds words to me.

It’s Saturday. It’s “naptime”… everyone is in bed, and I am going to try to make this snappy so I can follow suit.

This week has been better. I’ve had my moments, but I call them what they were, “moments”. Not “days”, thankfully.

Let’s see… this week has been full.

On Tuesday my “Tuesday friend” (*smile*) came. I think I’ve told you that she drives past our main road to and from work. So Tuesdays when she gets off she heads over here and we visit and then have dinner together. She arrives about 3pm. This week I made homemade stirfry, potstickers and shrimp egg rolls. It was a very tasty meal, but too much work for the outcome, I think. I started in the kitchen with vegetable prep at 1:30pm, and didn’t sit down until it was time to eat, about 6pm. That’s a long time on your feet in the kitchen! The potstickers, especially, were time consuming. I did get a little better and faster at folding them the more I did. The egg rolls were fairly easy. I’d be willing to make those again. But considering that the potstickers are two bites of food, and how much time they take, I think I’ll be looking in the frozen food isle if I want potstickers in the future. Mrs. B got me started on them the other day, so I think I will want them again soon. They’re tasty. I love Chinese/Oriental food. The other thing was that each of the dishes were all things that you had to prepare and cook right before serving. If I could have made the potstickers ahead of time, for instance, it might not be so bad. But I had to make them right before cooking; which was right before serving. So the timing was kind of wonky. Oh well. It was a learning experience. Now I can say I’ve done it! I always see those eggroll wrappers and such and want to buy them.

Wednesday, M let me go to the bible study!!! That was amazing. It is on the Christian Worldview, and so timely for me. It was at 7pm and T (my “Tuesday friend”) picked me up since she lives nearby. It was very good and offered a lot of food for thought.

Thursday, Mrs. P was back from her trip and came to do our little bible study on the Attributes of God. Very interesting, and what I had learned on Wednesday really tied in in a lot of ways, so that was cool.

On Wednesday L brought her sewing machine to the bible study so I could borrow it. I wanted to make a present for Mrs. S, who was having a very belated bridal shower on Friday. I made an apron, which I had already cut out to make for her about a year ago when she arrived, but somehow it never got done. I don’t think I had a good sewing machine at the time. So I stayed up late and worked on that Thursday, and did a few finishing touches Friday morning. It turned out quite a lot better than I had hoped, so I was very pleased.

Friday, Mrs. W came and picked me up for the bridal shower. This is the lady who lives nearby, she was also hosting it. Several ladies came and we had some yummy finger foods, punch, coffee and a beautiful cake decorated by a lady who is an amazing cake decorator. We had a wonderful time visiting, and Mrs. P led a little devotional on submission and we talked about that awhile. What amazing ladies they all are! I’m so blessed to be a part of their lives.

Mrs. W swung by the library on her way to take me home so I could pick up a few movies.

Tomorrow the B family is coming after church. (My “Thursday friends”.) I don’t think the dad has ever been to our new house. He and M seems to get along fairly well. He’s been working for the past two weekends and working today, so it’s been like 20 days straight or something.

Well, I need to close now so I can get up and squeeze a nap in while I still can.
JJ

PS It’s almost Thanksgiving!!! I can hardly wait to go to the W’s house again! It was so fun last time. https://joyfuljourney.wordpress.com/2006/11/25/thanksgiving/

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    MerryMommyofFive said,

    I was happy to read a new post and glad to hear that you are doing better. It sounds like you had a blessed week. I’m sorry to have missed the shower. I got your message Friday morning. Michelle had a little “performance” at school and my aunt came to see it. I spent the afternoon with her. Sounds like it went well. I’m looking forward to coming by tomorrow. What can I bring? Are you having any other families? Let me know. See you tomorrow!

  2. 2

    Jennifer said,

    It’s so good to see a post from you. I am praying for you. 1 Peter 3:1-6 have been my theme verses lately–I can’t think of any better to meditate on right now. I’m sure you have visited and revisited there too.
    I don’t know what potstickers are!
    It sounds like you have many wonderful friends and a great support there. Praise God for that!
    Love,
    Jennifer


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

