It’s not all about me

Wow. What a revelation I had in the shower the other day.

It’s. Not. All. About. Me.

Really, Lord? Aww, that’s too bad. I thought it was. I mean, really, I love to focus on myself and my own earth-shattering problems. What’s that? There’s other people with problems, too? Worse than mine? No, really?

*Sigh*

Well, this approach seems to be working so far, but I will probably crash in a few days.

If only I had advice for people who are hurting. I don’t know what to say. Marriages are falling apart, hearts are being broken, faith stretched to the max, and here I am, with not one helpful word coming to mind. How do I comfort these poor people? I wish my brain and tongue were not so slow. If only I was a wonderfully wise, bible scholar with an unending supply of Godly advice for people. It makes me feel so dumb. And issues I used to think were cut-and-dried are now becoming more complicated for me. I don’t know anymore what is right or wrong in these situations.

On a message board I’m on, as well as in my own circle of friends, I’m finding marriages being devistated. I’m wondering if it’s something going around, an attack of the Devil’s. Please, wherever you are, pray for marriages to be strengthened, healed and held together.  

James 1:2-4:
My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.

Matthew 5:10-12:
Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness’ sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake. Rejoice, and be exceeding glad: for great is your reward in heaven: for so persecuted they the prophets which were before you.

I’m trying to understand why (let alone, how) you are supposed to rejoice and be joyful when troubling things are happening to you. I want to study joy in the bible more. Just now I looked it up on bibleresources and it was very interesting, indeed. I just looked at the references in the New Testament, and there were lots! There is quite the emphasis placed on being joyful. Joy seems to be something easy to overlook. Love and faith, yes. But joy? That’s not as big. Or is it? I’ll let you know what I find out.

JJ

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    MerryMommyofFive said,

    Does that mean that it’s not all about me either??? I’m gonna have to think on that one for awhile. Hmmm…I guess that sounds right. Haha! I know what you mean about the sin out there. I just got an email for prayer for the family of someone who committed suicide. So sad. So much evil out there. Let us keep up the good fight together! Love you!

    MMOF

  2. 2

    beckwanda said,

    Our good and gracious Lord has created marriage as a portrait of His love for us.
    This is one amazing witness to the world of who He is. His character, His love for us, His commitment to us, His covenant with us.
    Satan does not want to see marriages survive.
    Isn’t there a statistic about Christian marriages failing at a higher rate than non-Christian ones?
    Whatever. Satan may be roaming around seeking to devour us, but by God we will not be devoured. It feels like it sometimes, but God will not forsake us. He will be our ever present help in time of trouble. He loves us and we are infinitely valuable to Him, as are our children. We belong to HIM. Darn, now I have to start living what I just said. Gives me a different perspective when it’s not about me doesn’t it.
    Hate to have to be in this position to comfort you my friend, knowing somewhat but not entirely how you feel. But I am so thankful for your encouragement and willingness to listen to and love me.
    Now I hope I made some sense because I am AMPED on SUGAR from too much candy.
    Nighty night.
    I will call you tomorrow.
    Hey, check out Mrs. B. back in the blogsphere!!!! Woo-hoo!!!!!

  3. 3

    beckwanda said,

    p.s.- oh by the way, can you remind me about all that stuff about not being devoured and how God loves us and stuff tomorrow? you may throw in some hard pressed on every side but not destroyed stuff too. that always helps. good thing we aren’t being killed for being christians AND dealing with all this at the same time. sorry but i am in the mood to kick some you know what!!! i feel like rocky.
    oh, wait, that is just the state of things.
    no, i feel like climbing a ton of steps and standing at the top with my arms raised dressed in gray sweats and a beanie on my head.
    hahaha.
    WAY too much sugar.
    bye bye.

  4. 4

    Amy,
    What a thoughtful and insightful post. I really enjoyed reading and being provoked to examine myself.
    Last year I led a young adult Sunday School class where we used the Max Lucado study called It’s Not About Me. It was a real eye opener for the class and they struggled with many of the things you laid out in your excellent post.
    I do pray that you will continue to seek God for answers, that is where they lie. And don’t worry too much about not having some theologically complicated answer for people when they are hurting; just tell them what Jesus has done for you and let them see Him in you!

    Love
    Sylvia


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

