Saw the new house!

I’ve been chomping at the bit to write another post, but unable to get on and do so until now. Sorry for the gap.

On Thursday I got to see the new house for the first time! The property management lady was coming at 9am to do a pre-move-in inspection and give us our keys. I had to be there to sign something, so we all woke up at 6am to go with M.

We walked to a nearby playground to kill some time in the morning, first. Then we headed over to the house. Walking in, I was amazed at how huge it was! I mean, sure, I knew it was more than twice the size of where we’re living now, and 2500 sqft, but I wasn’t sure exactly what that would look like…. HUGE! I’m not going to complain, though!

The downstairs consists of a large front room when you first walk in, (we’ll put our  diningroom table in there)
an office with built-in shelving along one wall
kitchen with granite countertops and an island –oh, and a gas stove!!! Yay! I hate cooking with electric.
livingroom with built-in entertainment center & cubby shelves to the side of that
half-bath
small closet
glass sliding door to backyard
door to garage

The yard is really cool! It’s about 2/3 back grass and landscaping, then the back 1/3 of the yard is divided by a little gate and sideways 2/3 is bark mulch stuff, 1/3 dirt/sand. A little play area back there for the children. When asked what his favorite part of the new house is, MJ responds, “The garden!” (backyard)

Upstairs is a “loft” area with built-in shelves and one wall with corkboard on it — I plan to make it into a school area
small bedroom
full bath
2nd small bedroom
laundry room (will be interesting having that on the second floor… won’t have to carry baskets of laundry upstairs to put away.)
master bedroom
master bathroom with separate shower stall and tub
master bedroom walk-in closet

There are windows everywhere! I’m excited about that. Currently, not to mention they all face the same direction, we only have a glass sliding door in the livingroom, and one window in each bedroom.

I took some video of the house and I’ll get some pictures off of that and post them.

This weekend we picked up a free refridgerator from someone who was moving, and M dropped it off at the house this morning. We also started packing, and he brought those boxes with him this morning, too. (Mostly books.)

The sermon on Sunday was really good, too. It was on the last part of Mark 4. Jesus calming the storm on the boat. It was about not worrying, because Jesus is in the boat with us. I’m telling it really cheesy, but it was really a good lesson on not worrying, because God is on your side, and with you. I wish our pastor would put his sermons up on SermonAudio.

Well, the house looks like a tornado went through it, and C is sleeping so I should go do something about it. I just wanted to squeeze a post in here while I could.

JJ

Leave a Reply

