Watching yourself give birth is freaky

Well, I finally worked up enough courage to watch the birth video. It was a weird experience. So that’s what I look like giving birth! The delivery part even made me cry. I can’t watch a video of a baby being born without getting teary-eyed.

I had a moment of panic when I thought perhaps the video didn’t turn out. I had some old video from the park on the camera at the time, and when I transferred it over to the computer, the park video clips and the birth video clips got all mixed up. So I was going along in order, watching the clips from the birth, and then all of the sudden there are several park clips in a row. I kept clicking on each clip in the folder and each of them was a park video, then I clicked on the last clip in the file, and it was a birth clip, but I was afraid maybe the camera had gotten full and we didn’t get all the video we thought we had taken. Turns out the last clip was 17 minutes long, so that explains why. The others were only a couple minutes long, so I expected there to be more clips.

Wow! Katrina, thank you. You did a great job with the camera! My mom and sisters are really going to enjoy getting to “be there” through the video. And it’s something I’ll treasure, too.

Maybe when we get high-speed internet I’ll be able to upload video faster. If I ever am able to do that, I will post some snippets from it, at least. It’s not a “show-all” type of birth where everything is out there on display, but there is some nudity that I’d rather not have broadcast to the world via internet.

Wow. I really do make it look easy, haha. Whew!
I’m just glad I don’t have to think about doing that for at least another 9 months. (If I follow my current trend of getting my cycle back at around 1 year and then getting pregnant shortly thereafter, it will be about 2 years.)

Watching this, only a week (less, by hours) after doing it, makes me agree all the more:

A woman when she is in travail hath sorrow, because her hour is come: but as soon as she is delivered of the child, she remembereth no more the anguish, for joy that a man is born into the world.

JJ

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    MerryMommyofFive said,

    I’m so glad that the video turned out. As I said before, you did an awesome job! Charles is beautiful! Love, MMOF aka Katrina

  2. 2

    Jennifer said,

    I’m glad your video turned out well. I don’t think I’d want to watch myself give birth! Thank you for the verse at the end–I needed that reminder as my time draws near and I’m getting a little scared!

    BTW–Do you have a remedy for afterbirth pains that you use? I have horrible ones while I’m nursing for a couple days.

  3. 3

    Oh, that is so neat! I’ve never wanted video of my births….I’m rather, let’s say, LOUD!!!!!! when I’m giving birth. Not screaming or anything, just moaning loudly……wouldn’t want to see myself onvideo doing that 😉 I’m so glad that everything went so well for you with this baby! It was such a pleasure praying for you!

    Love and hugs and baby kisses!
    In Him,
    Lori4squaremom

  4. 4

    Glenys said,

    You are far braver than me! I like lots of Pethidene and privacy! 🙂

    Love

    Glenys

  5. 5

    Sylvia said,

    Glad to know everything went well. I’m not sure I would be brave enough to watch myself! But I’m glad you did and are able to have that video memory.

  6. 6

    Wardeh said,

    Amy,

    I love the quote at the end of your post. That is so true. I am not surprised you’re brave enough to watch your homebirth. You are a brave sort of woman. God bless! Love, Wardeh


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

