Oh yeah… my blog!

Well, I suppose that time off from my blog was bad for my good blog-writing habit. Now I forget to update it. (And, I’m afraid I may have lost all my readers during my hiatus.)

Today started off kind of slow, but I did get a lot accomplished. I was going to write it down here, but now that I think about that, it would probably be boring reading, so I guess I won’t.

Yesterday E started saying “bye” very clearly, with a “B” sound. She knows her “B” sound, but since she’s learned to say it, “Hi” and “Bye” have both been “Eiii!” with no “H” or “B” sound to distinguish the two. It’s really cute. She was also especially friendly, waving to everyone in the store today. She learned a new wave. She holds her arm out and waves her open hand side to side, “like a princess” as M says. Before she used to wave towards herself with an opening and closing of her hand, like “come here”.

The children have had a cold for about a week, though E seems to have a much milder version that is almost gone. MJ has been having coughing fits, especially at night, but has been better for the last couple nights. It reminded me of when I had strep throat (I think) when I was about 30 weeks pregnant, and would not get any sleep because I would cough all night! Not something I want to do again.

We’ve been spoiled by having two three-day weekends in a row! The Christmas weekend we just hung out at home, this last weekend we went up to Santa Rosa Plateau Ecological Reserve. It is quite nearby to where we live, but we had never been there before. We took some sandwiches and made a day of it. It was really beautiful, and the weather was perfect. There was such a diversity to the park. Some areas were wooded and more “forest-y” and others were varying degrees of desert. We saw three deer shortly after we got there, and then two more right before we left. We probably hiked 10 miles. We also saw “cat” prints on the path in several places. They were too small to be mountain lion, so I guessed maybe skunk. Later we saw a sampling of prints and determined that they were bobcat prints. So that was kind of cool.

Oh yeah– one more thing. We were coming out of church on Sunday night, being one of the last people to leave, and of course it was dark already. I saw some kind of thing out of the corner of my eye in the parking lot by the sidewalk. I first thought it was a tarantula. (For my non-California readers, did you know they have those here?? I was shocked to find this out. I thought they lived in other countries.) It sure looked like a tarantula to me, but it was dark and I wasn’t going to go close enough to find out for sure. M went over and said, “No, it’s a scorpion…. no, actually it’s some kind of a cricket.” I thought, ‘There’s no way that’s a cricket!’ But then the pastor came out and said, “Oh, yeah, that’s a Jerusalem Cricket. S had one as a pet awhile back.” Eeeeww! Well, I have been meaning to look it up on Google, since I really didn’t get a good look in person. HERE is what I found. A very interesting article, actually. But boy do those things look gross and creepy!

Well, that’s all for now. Let me know if you’re still reading my blog!
JJ
Jerusalem Cricket

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Wendy said,

    Hi Amy, still here!

  2. 2

    Sylvia said,

    Hi Amy, I’m still reading 🙂 Glad to see you back.
    Love
    Sylvia

  3. 3

    ktbunch said,

    I LOVE the bright new background!

    THose things are FREAKY w/ their big heads & eyes staring up @ you if you try to step on it! EEEEEEKKK! lol

  4. 4

    Vicki said,

    Glad to see you’re back… I love the blog. Love the new background too.

  5. 5

    Jennifer said,

    I love your new look! It’s beautiful I’m reading, but I only check every few days because you don’t update enough. *hint hint* 😀 J/K–You always give me a hard time so I couldn’t just let you slip 🙂

  6. 6

    Mary Jo said,

    Hey Amy! I’m still reading 🙂 Love the new background–very pretty!

  7. 7

    Katrina said,

    I’m still here even though I haven’t posted on my blog in forever! I commend you for staying on top of things! The background is really pretty!

  8. 8

    Idetrorce said,

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

