Diamond Valley Bike Trail

Saturday we finally tried the bike trail at Diamond Valley Lake. It’s about 21 miles long, and goes around the whole lake. We only went 6 miles in one way, because it was afternoon and they close the trail at 4:30.

We weren’t sure exactly what the trail was like, so we were a bit apprehensive. It turned out to be pretty good, though. There were some areas of loose gravel and some areas of sand that were hard to ride through, but other than that it was pretty good. Most of it was flat, though there were some hills, a few steep enough that M had to walk his bike up with the bike trailer on the back. I was able to ride up all but one. At one point the trail was paved for awhile. That was nice! It’s a very senic trail, too. The lake is right on one side, and there are hills, brush, etc on the other side. I saw some quail, hawks, a crane, and M saw a rabbit.

Yesterday my computer got all infected. Yikes! I think I have successfuly gotten rid of everything now. It was kind of scary, because at one point my computer wouldn’t even start. (I had to start it in ‘Safe Mode’.) It’s working fine now and both my anti-virus and anti-spyware program are coming back clean.

This morning I made up a concoction for breakfast.
Mexican Baked Egg Dish

12 corn tortillas
3 Tbls oil
1/2 c mexican rice
1 c chili
6 eggs
splash milk
S&P

Chop tortillas and fry in skillet with most of the oil. Grease small pan with the rest. (I used a round cake pan.)
Beat eggs, milk & S&P
Line pan with 3/4 of the tortillas. Spoon rice over tortillas. Pour eggs evenly over everything. Dot top with chili. Top with rest of tortillas.

I baked it for about 20 minutes, uncovered, but the eggs in the middle weren’t cooking all the way, so I covered it and baked for about 10 more minutes. You could probably cut down on baking time by covering it either from the start, or at least sooner into the baking.Ā 
Some variations:
Top with cheese when it’s almost done
Add salsa to the eggs before beating
Sprinkle top with sliced black olives
Add chopped, sauteed onions/bellpepper to the eggs
Use refried beans instead of chili
Omit the rice

For what it’s worth, there you have it! (If anyone tries it, let me know what you did and how it turns out!)
JJ

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mrs. Mobunny said,

    Your breakfast concoction sounds good, but I’m wondering just how much a splash of milk is!!! We love to ride bikes. All of us have one that actually works for once. We live withing hearing distance of a football field where games are played quite often. We could walk over there so we wouldn’t have to park at Kroger! I’m not in the football watching mode when it is 93 out at 7pm.

  2. 2

    Hi Mrs. Mobunny!

    I’m glad you are reading my blog! šŸ™‚
    I dunno what a ‘splash’ of milk is… whatever small amount of milk you usually put in when you’re beating eggs for an omlet or scrambled eggs.

    The weather has been really nice here! I was expecting it to get chilly, even, while watching the game, but it was really pleasant. I ended up sitting on the blanket I brought, which still wasn’t enough padding! lol

  3. 3

    ktbunch said,

    I LOVE riding bikes…but just on the street in the neighborhoods…a bike trail sounds like fun AND a good healhty workout! YAY! For you! šŸ˜‰

  4. 4

    Yep, I love the getting a workout aspect! I don’t particularly enjoy “exercising” just to exercise. But I don’t mind doing something like bike riding or tennis! šŸ™‚

    I’m glad to see YOU are reading my blog, too! šŸ™‚ I read yours. I’m glad you’re updating more often now.

  5. 5

    Frank English said,

    Hello
    When you went to Diamond Valley Lake, how did you get access to the bike path?
    Frank

  6. 6

    Frank,

    The bike path starts just to the right of the dock area, at the foot of the hill.

    JJ


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

