Flight 93

Last night we watched the movie, “Flight 93“. It was a made for TV movie. Which, I didn’t realize until I brought it home. I knew there were two movies that came out recently about that flight, the other one “United 93”. I didn’t know which was which, so I just picked one.

Anyways, I found it kind of depressing to already know from the beginning that everyone in the movie is doomed. I didn’t care that it was made for TV. It seemed well enough made. 

A touching story, and amazingly enough I didn’t even cry. But, I couldn’t stop thinking about it all night.

At the end, right after the plane crashes, it shows this huge black hole with smoking, burning wreckage. Actually, not much wreckage. Most of it was incinerated. I just kept thinking, all those people. All those living souls who were just a second ago, whole, living, breathing, family-having individuals, now, a split second later are completely, totally gone. Not even remains. Here one second and nothing is left of you the next. All those were people. Real moms and dads, sisters, brothers, wives and husbands, sons and daughters. And then they’re not anymore. It’s really hard to comprehend.

It’s hard to believe that it’s already been 5 years. The victims families have gone on with their lives, but of course they will always remember and sorrow for their lost loved ones. I read a heart breaking story in the newspaper recently about how all the children who were not yet or only just born on 9/11 are turning 5 years old, and starting to ask, and be able to understand, about where their dads are.

I’ll let you know how “United 93” is once we watch that.

JJ

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    D. said,

    if you don’t speak german, sorry to bother. this is my personal account of that day. Perhaps you want to use babelfish to translate, i didn’t take the time yet to do so. Anyhoo – family and I were on one of the last planes IN THE AIR – when other planes hit their “targets” it’s a tragedy…

  2. 2

    D. said,

    if you don’t speak german, sorry to bother. this is my personal account of that day. Perhaps you want to use babelfish to translate, i didn’t take the time yet to do so. Anyhoo – family and I were on one of the last planes IN THE AIR – when other planes hit their “targets” it’s a tragedy…
    http://danisahne.wordpress.com/2006/09/11/der-elfte-september/

  3. 3

    An interesting read, D! Thanks!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

