Fast Week

It seems to me like this week has just flown by! I can’t think of anything too terribly exciting that has happened, but I will try to fill you in, at least.

On Tuesday night we went to a new mexican restaurant that just opened. There were coupons in the paper for their grand opening. Other than M grabbing a burrito for lunch or something occasionally, we haven’t been to a mexican restaurant since we’ve moved here. I love mexican food! This place was pretty good. They were FAST, too. Our drinks came instantly and the food was there in probably less than 10 minutes. That is always a plus.

This week I finished up watching Wives & Daughters so I could give it back to my friend on Thursday. It was a great movie, and I recommend it.

It seems like I’ve spent all week recovering from my trek on Monday. Other than the necessities, plus cleaning up the toy room really well, I have kind of failed at housework. Okay, maybe I’m being a bit harsh on myself. There are a couple things I’ve neglected to do all week and they are making themselves into mountains in my eyes. The house is actually pretty good, come to think of it. I have about 5 loads of laundry (clean) that are sitting in a basket that need to be folded and put away. And my dirty laundry is piling up again and I probably have 2 more loads to do. I don’t know how we have so much laundry! I dread folding and especially putting it away. I don’t know why, but I’ve always hated that part. My kitchen floor also needs to be swept and mopped. (It’s very tiny, though, so it would probably take 10 minutes or less.) Also I need to scrub out both bathtubs.

Yesterday the B family came again for our usual Thursday get-together. I do so enjoy those bright spots in my week. I made some faux lasagna type casserole. She wanted the recipe, so let me see if I can make one up. (This is the way I made it, you can tweak the ingredients.)

Lasagna Casserole

1/2 lb noodles (bow ties, spiral, macaroni, etc)
1 med zucchini
1 sm onion
1 bell pepper
fresh garlic to taste
dash of hot sauce
1 Tbl italian seasoning
2 cans diced tomatoes
2 cans tomato paste
2 meatless sausages
1/3 container low fat cottage cheese
2 cups shredded mozzerela cheese
I didn’t have any, but parmesan would have been good, too
Another think I *had* but forgot to put in, is black olives

In large pot, saute chopped onion, bell pepper, zucchini, sausage and garlic. Add tomato paste and stir in well. Add tomatoes, draining a little liquid out if necessary. Season. Cook pasta noodles, drain. In large bowl, add pasta, sauce, and cottage cheese. Mix well. Pour into 9 x 13″ baking pan. Sprinkle mozzerela on top. Bake at 400 for 10 minutes or until cheese is melted and it is hot through. When you put it in the oven, put garlic bread in, too, and they’ll both be done at the same time. (To make this cheesier and worse for your health, you can add some extra mozzerela into the body of the casserole as well as on top.)
We watched the second “Love Comes Softly” movie. It was good. My friend is so sweet. God Bless her!

I’m going to wrap this up now.
JJ

Leave a Reply

