Homekeeper’s Notebook

Well, I did it. I finally started putting together my Homekeeping Notebook! I’m excited, and hope that I will be able to learn to use it. I’ll see if I can post some pics tomorrow. It’s pretty small right now, only a few pages. I have a lot of ideas of things to put in it, but for now, it was just important to at least get it started. I put off those kinds of projects forever since I can never find the time to do them in their entirety.

It rained today. It was only the second time since we’ve moved here. I happened to be at the store when it started, so I walked out to find a torrent. We waited until it eased up a bit, and then walked home in it. Appearances fool you, because you think if it’s overcast and raining, it’ll be cool. Well, it wasn’t. It was even more humid. Terrible, stifling, almost-can’t-breathe humid. Bleck!

I made something really yummy tonight for dinner. On Saturday when we went shopping, I actually made a list before hand. (For some reason, we just haven’t had a shopping list since we’ve moved.) So I went through the cookbook and planned a few meals out.

Orange-Ginger Chicken and Veggies
1 Med navel orange
(I used a can of mandarin oranges, less those eaten by children)
4 tsp cornstarch
1/4 tsp ground ginger OR 1 tsp grated fresh gingerroot
(I used fresh)
1 c reduced-sodium chicken broth (used a bullion cube in water)
2 Tbl reduced-sodium soy sauce
2 Tbl chili sauce
(didn’t have any)
1/4 tsp hot pepper sauce (used more)
1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch pieces
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 Tbl canola oil
2 c brocolli florets
1 med sweet red pepper, julienned
1 med sweet yellow pepper, julienned
(used green instead, it was all I had. Yellow would have made it prettier)
1/2 c shredded carrot
1/3 c unsalted cashews
(All I had was salted, so I rinsed and drained them)
3 c hot cooked rice (I servd it over brown rice)

Grate orange peel, reserving 1 1/2 teaspoons. (Since I didn’t have any orange peel, I just put a little of the juice from the can in with the broth liquid.) Peel and section orange, set orange sections aside. In a small bowl, combine the cornstarch and ginger. Stir in the broth, soy sauce, chili sauce, hot pepper sauce and reserved grated orange peel until blended, set aside.
In a large nonstick skillet or wok, stir-fry the chicken and garlic in oil 2-3 minutes or until lightly browned. Add the brocolli, peppers and carrot; stir-fry for 5 min. or until the vegetables are crisp-tender. Stir broth mixture and add to pan. Bring to a boil; cook and stir 2 minutes, or until thickened. Remove from heat; stir in cashews and reserved orange sections. Serve with rice.

I’ve gotta run now!
JJ

Leave a Reply

