Busy Week… Long Weekend Ahead

Hi there!

I’m sorry I haven’t written for awhile. I really wanted to, but have had NO time to do so. Even now, I’m kind of fudging. I should be up cleaning. I’m having someone else over for a vist today, and they’re coming between 9-10am. It’s 7:20 and the house is a disaster. But I need to post.

Last week went well. The lunch on Thursday with my other friend was lots of fun. We really ought to make it a weekly event. But, she’d probably soon tire of me! And she has children close to my son’s age, so he has a lot of fun when they come over. We had spaghetti that I made in the crock pot, but it didn’t turn out as well as I had hoped. (I don’t think it was quite as bad as I had feared, but it still wasn’t the best.) I had added extra water to the sauce, and turned it on low overnight. When I got up in the morning to stir it, the top was all dried out and brown. It still had the extra liquid in it, though, so I don’t know quite what happened.

We went to another bike path on Saturday, but it was much, much shorter (like probably 1 mile or less) and very hilly, so it wasn’t as fun. It was in town. Bike paths are really hard to find here. I think they’re out there, I just am really frustrated trying to search for them online.

We had been hoping my bathing suit would get here in time for some weekend swimming, but alas, nothing showed up. I’ve been eagerly/anxiously/impatiently awaiting my suit for nearly a month. http://www.modest-swimwear.net/

It better get here in time for THIS weekend, which will be a FOUR DAY weekend!! Yippee! This is M’s first extended weekend since being on the job. Friday-Monday, which also makes this week and next only 4 days. I think the plan is to go biking and swimming in the Coronado area one day, and in an Orange County beach area another. We are going to do our stuff on Fridayand Saturday, and then we have church Sunday, which is the fellowship meal and someone was talking about maybe inviting everyone to their house afterwards. And then we were just going to relax on Monday.

I’m making Mexican Soup for lunch today. I’ve made it before, but not for awhile. It’s really tasty. I made up my recipe after having it at a Tea-Cottage once. I’ll keep track this time and write up a new recipe to post here. (I lost my first one.) I’m hoping I am remembering everything. I had to pick up a few things from the store last night.

We have a shopping complex across the street from us, which comes in handy. In the Albertsons, they have a tiny video store, and they have .99 rentals. On Mondays, new releases are .99, too. M wanted to get a movie last night, so we walked over and picked up Syriana, with George Clooney. (We also got a credit because one of the movies we got last weekend had a scratched disk and we couldn’t finish watching it.) So we also picked up “The Ladykillers” with Tom Hanks. I hope it is good. I like Tom Hanks, and we saw the original movie, and it was really funny. Syriana was well acted, and had the appearance of a well-made movie, and I enjoyed it for the most part, but the story line was really hard to follow, and when it ended I kind of just scratched my head and said, “okay….?” There was some bad language in it, (from what I can remember, mostly two scenes that had a liberal sprinkling the “F” word) and a bit of violence, though not too gruesome, just to warn you all out there.

We saw Madagascar over the weekend. I found it amusing, and some parts were downright funny. (At least, to me!) It was pretty tame, no love story, and without all those innuendos intended for adults that are supposed to go over the kid’s head. The “self-proclaimed Lord of the Lemurs, king of the jungle, etc. etc, hooray.” part was funny. I liked how enthusiastic (NOT!) the assistant lemur was when he said that, especially the expressionless, “hooray.” I also got a kick out of the part where the King says, “Shh, quiet everybody, including me, shh! Who’s making that noise? Oh! It’s me again.” And the part I found most funny, which I’m kind of ashamed to admit, because I usually don’t like this kind of thing at all…. is the “Of course we’ll fling poo at him!” and “If you have any poo, fling it now!” by the mischeivous monkeys, with their very proper British accent. It’s probably the accent that is the most hilarious part about it, you just don’t expect someone who sounds like that to say something like that. It’s probably also the accent that makes it forgivable, and actually funny to me, because usually I have no tolerance for that kind of humor.

Okay, now I need to eat something and get going on a frenzy-speed cleaning! Of course I’ll be putting some music on… let’s see, what should I pick today? I think I’ll go with Frank’s Place. http://music.aol.com/ Click on the “AOL Radio” tab, then on “Launch AOL radio with XM” Then it’s the last one under “Oldies”. Enjoy!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Katrina said,

    Hey Amy,

    Sounds great to make Thursday lunches an every Thursday thing! We would never tire of you all. You are a sweet family and we enjoy our time with you. You’ll probably tire of us! Let me know!?

    Katrina

  2. 2

    Jennifer said,

    That movie sounds funny! We never got it because I was afraid it was one of those PG kids movies that are so not for children in my opinion. Maybe now we’ll check it out since your review of it.


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

