Bus & Boating

Well, I figured I’d better write another post. Not that I don’t want to, but I’m tired. And I figure the longer I put it off, the less likely it’ll be that I’ll actually write it.Right now I’m on the laptop sitting in MJ’s bed, waiting for him to fall asleep. I was in the livingroom, but he wasn’t falling asleep, so I came in here so he would sleep faster. I don’t feel comfortable sleeping myself if he’s not. But I’m rather tired. It’s “only” 10pm, but I’ve been tired since about 8. I got up about 7:30 this morning.There is an internet jack in here, but most of the ones in the house don’t really work reliably, and this one isn’t right now. So I’m just writing this in a wordpad document, and then I’ll copy it over to the blog.

I kind of skipped my schedule for the most part ever since Thursday. I had a friend over for lunch, and we had a great time. The children all enjoyed playing together. After she left we ran across the street to pick up a couple things at Walgreen’s. Then we came home and fixed dinner.

Friday I decided to see what the bus service is like. I looked online and found out where the stops were, and there weren’t many of them. I was going to have to walk several blocks and catch the bus from there. As I was walking, about 3 blocks away or so I came to a bus stop. There was a phone number on the sign, so I called and asked when they were scheduled to stop there. It was only about 10 min. away, so we just waited there. I realized that there was a lot of bus stops, but that there are certain ones that are scheduled stops, and others they only stop at if someone wants to get on or off. So that worked out well. The bus goes right up to the library, so that’s where we went. We got a few children’s books, a couple movies and an audio book. I used to listen to audio books all the time. I enjoyed doing that in the kitchen while I cleaned up or made meals. This library doesn’t have a huge selection. The first time I went I couldn’t find any I was even remotely interested in. The second time it was a tie between Huckleberry Fin and Tuesdays with Morrie. I chose the latter, but it was kind of boring and I only listened to two of the three cd’s. That’s another thing, we don’t have a tape player, just a CD player. (A friend at church today who I mentioned this to said she had one in her garage she’d bring to church for me next week.) On Friday there was only one good thing, The Hiding Place, by Corrie Ten Boom. That should be an interesting listen. I’ve read the book and seen the movie a couple times.

After the library, we walked a little ways to the mall. I had brought a picnic lunch with us but I just couldn’t find a park or anywhere suitable to eat it. So we ended up going to TCBY’s and ordering their cheapest thing, which was a $1.99 single scoop of ice cream, just so we could sit outside in their shaded chairs and eat our lunch. After that, we went into the mall and walked around for a couple hours. I am shocked every time I go into a mall at the outrageous prices people pay for stuff. As long as I could remember we’ve always gotten 99% of everything we buy from thrift shops and garage sales. I really needed new shoes, and a friend told me about Payless shoes. There was one in the mall, so I stopped in. There were a lot of shoes on sale for $5-$11 but nothing in my size or style. I finally found one pair I liked, but they weren’t on sale. I can’t remember the last time I spent $25.00 on one thing for myself!

Before we left I let the children play at the little indoor play area. They had fun, but it was really crowded, and I had a hard time keeping track of them. There was this huge “tree” with a balcony on it that every so often a giant mechanical bear would come out onto and tell a story. The “tree” blocked the view to the other part of the play area, though, so inevitably MJ and E wanted to play on separate sides. (And I had to keep track of the stroller, too.)

We were going to catch the bus home just outside the mall, but we were just a little too late for it, and it would be about an hour before it came again. We had a little time before the bus would come back to the library, so we walked back over there. But we ended up waiting in vain (with another woman) for a bus that never showed up. Finally the next bus came, though. While we were on the bus I realized that the bus would go right past our apts, so I just stayed on and sure enough, there was a bus stop right at the entrance to our apts. I could have boarded there, too. (I will next time.)

My husband was in Huntington Beach on Friday. He had some training relating to his job there. There was an accident (a big rig had run off the road) and the traffic was really backed up. While he was stopped waiting, at the end of the line, a woman came up behind him and rear-ended him. Thankfully, he was okay. He did/does have a bit of a stiff neck, but we don’t think it will be an ongoing problem. Both vehicles were not damaged, either. He was pretty late to his meeting. I’ll bet he was mighty glad to get home! We had frozen Tilapia filets from Sams (they are yummy!) and scallops and mushrooms and salad. Then we watched “Brigadoon”. I had never seen it before. It was silly.

It’s getting late. MJ is finally asleep. So I’m going to wrap this up quickly.

On Saturday we went to a lake that is (amazingly!) only about 10 miles from our house. It is quite pretty, and there is camping there, too. We rented a 4-person aluminum motor boat. It was a blast! We had fun. I even took a turn driving. I was a bit apprehensive before hand about how the kiddos would behave, and whether they’d be happy sitting still in a boat. I needn’t have worried. Apart from some whimpering outbursts from time to time from MJ who would feel scared and happy by turns, they were adorable. E took a nice nap in the bottom of the boat. And whenever we’d turn the motor on she’s lay back and just be super mellow and relaxed. It really lulled her. We ate a picnic on the boat, saw several cranes, and even watched a crazy stunt bi-plane overhead. (That part was neat in itself!) The pilot was doing things like going straight up in the air and then free-falling, loop-de-loop, upside down, etc. It was a little nerve-wracking to see, but cool. I’d never seen that kind of thing in person. (Except the Blue Angels, but that was jets.)

Okay, I need to get to bed now. It’s 10:30. I thought it would be later than that, but I’m really tired. I need to get up early to iron M’s uniform.

Hopefully I can post something with a little more “meat” to it soon.

In Christ,

JJ

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Ona-Lynne said,

    More meat??? Why? Your blog is fab. I can imagine everything – esp lazing on the river. Save all the blogs & you can use them as “book” material. Ever tried?
    I’m catching up on events now LOL


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

